Can you go to jail for retail theft in PA?

Can you go to jail for retail theft in PA?

A third-degree penalty for retail theft in Pennsylvania is punishable by up to seven years in prison, according to the Pennsylvania Code section 15.66, and a fine of up to $15,000. A summary offense, on the other hand, is punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $300.

Is retail theft a misdemeanor in PA?

(1) Retail theft constitutes a: (i) Summary offense when the offense is a first offense and the value of the merchandise is less than $150. (ii) Misdemeanor of the second degree when the offense is a second offense and the value of the merchandise is less than $150.

What are the two types of shoplifting offenses?

Regardless of whether it is one or several parties that are participating in a shoplifting effort, the crime may be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony offense depending on the circumstances.

What is felony retail theft in PA?

Retail theft is charged as a third degree felony in cases where: The value of merchandise involved is over $2000; or. The item stolen is a car/automobile, or a firearm/gun; It is a third (3rd) or subsequent retail theft offense.

How much is a fine for retail theft in PA?

Pennsylvania Shoplifting Laws. If a person charged has no prior retail theft offenses, and the value of the merchandise is less than $150, retail theft is a summary offense. This carries a maximum penalty of 90 days in jail and a $300 fine.

How long is a sentence for shoplifting?

A violation of this law is a misdemeanor. Shoplifting is punishable by: custody in county jail (as opposed to state prison) for up to six months, and/or. a maximum fine of $1,000.

Can retail theft be expunged in PA?

Under Pennsylvania law, you have the right to petition for the expungement of a retail theft summary offense after a waiting period of five (5) years.

How serious is shoplifting?

You may be charged with an infraction, which has a fine and possible probation. If you’re charged with a misdemeanor, you could face fines of up to $1,000 and as much as six months in jail. Felony or grand theft charges for shoplifting include higher fines and a longer period of jail or prison time.

Is shoplifting a misdemeanor in Pennsylvania?

In Pennsylvania, shoplifting can be classified as a misdemeanor or a felony. It is most often a misdemeanor if the value of the goods stolen is under $2,000. Shoplifting can be classified as Misdemeanor 1 Shoplifting, which carries a maximum sentence of five years of jail time.

What usually happens to first-time shoplifters?

A typical run-of-the-mill, first-time shoplifting offense, under $1,000 and a class 1 misdemeanor, can have fines up to $2,500 (plus surcharge) and up to six months in jail, in addition to paying restitution. Sentencing, however, depends on many factors, and a lawyer can help you.

What usually happens to first time shoplifters?

Is retail theft a felony?

Theft by emergency exit of property, the full retail value of which does not exceed $300, is a Class 4 felony. (2) A person who has been convicted of retail theft

Is theft a felony or misdemeanor?

Theft is a Class A misdemeanor if the value of the property or service Is more than $500.00 but less than $1,500.00 Anything over $1,500.00 is a felony theft offense and is punishable by felony jail time and fines. Punishments for misdemeanor theft offenses Class A misdemeanor is punished by A fine up to $4,000

What is retail theft?

What Is Retail Theft? Retail theft means the taking or carrying away of merchandise, property, money, or negotiable documents; altering or removing a label, universal product code, or price tag; transferring merchandise from one container to another; or removing a shopping cart, with intent to deprive the merchant of the possession, use, benefit, or full retail value.

How bad is a misdemeanor?

Misdemeanors are crimes that are less serious than felonies, both in their commission and their punishment. In most states, the punishment for a misdemeanor is up to a year or less in the county jail, as opposed to felony punishment, which can involve state prison. Both misdemeanor and felony convictions may also involve fines and other punishments.