What are 8 major developmental assets?

What are 8 major developmental assets?

According to the Search Institute (“40 Developmental Assets for Adolescents,” 2009), the Developmental Assets can be separated into eight categories, which include Support, Empowerment, Boundaries & Expectations, Constructive Use of Time, Commitment to Learning, Positive Identity, Positive Values, and Social …

What are 40 developmental assets?

40 Developmental Assets®

  • Support. Family Support.
  • Empowerment. Community Values Youth.
  • Boundaries and Expectations. Family Boundaries.
  • Constructive Use of Time. Creative Activities.
  • Commitment to Learning. Achievement Motivation.
  • Positive Values. Caring.
  • Social Competencies. Planning and Decision Making.
  • Positive Identity.

What is an example of a developmental asset?

1. Family Support-Family life provides high levels of love and support. 7. Community Values Youth-Young person perceives that adults in the community value youth.

What are the internal developmental assets?

The Internal Assets are also placed into four categories: Commitment to Learning, Positive Values, Social Competencies, and Positive Identity (for a detailed description, consult Benson et al., 1998, 2006, 2011; Scales and Leffert, 2004; Benson, 2006). Table 1. The framework of 40 Developmental Assets® for adolescents.

What are developmental assets?

Developmental Assets® are the positive values, relationships, skills and experiences that help children and teens thrive.

What are the two categories the 40 developmental assets are divided into?

The 40 assets are grouped into two main groups: external and internal assets.

What are some assets of youth?

COMMITMENT TO LEARNING. Achievement motivation — Young person is motivated to do well in school.

  • POSITIVE VALUES. Caring — Young person places high value on helping other people.
  • SOCIAL COMPETENCIES. Planning and decision-making — Young person knows how to plan ahead and make choices.
  • What are some examples of external assets?

    External Assets

    • Support (family support, positive family communication, other adult relationships, caring neighborhood, caring school climate)
    • Empowerment (community values youth, youth as resources, service to others, safety)

    What is developmental asset model?

    They call these “Developmental Assets” which are traits, values and experiences that all young people need to be healthy, successful and reach their full potential. The more assets young people have, the more likely they are to: thrive; make healthy choices; and. avoid harmful behaviours.

    What are external development assets?

    Developmental Assets Profile Internal asset category includes four assets (commitment to learning, positive values, social competencies and positive identity), and external assets include four assets (i.e., support, empowerment, boundaries and expectations and constructive use of time).

    How many assets are within each group of the developmental asset framework?

    The Search Institute’s Developmental Assets Framework promotes 40 positive supports and strengths that young people need to succeed. The 40 assets are grouped into internal and external assets with four asset areas each.

    What is an internal developmental asset?

    Internal assets are those that focus on individual qualities that guide positive choices and develop a sense of confidence, passion, and purpose.

    Why are developmental assets important?

    Conclusion. Theoretically, developmental assets represent resources and opportunities that tend to promote positive development as well as prevent risk and problem behaviors, along with poor health in young people.

    What are development assets?

    Developmental Assets are defined as a set of interrelated experiences, relationships, skills, and values suggested to enhance a broad range of positive youth outcomes and are assumed to operate similarly for all youth (Benson et al., 1998; Scales and Leffert, 2004; Benson, 2006; Benson et al., 2011; Sesma et al., 2013) …