What are a nucleotides 3 parts?

What are a nucleotides 3 parts?

Nucleotides contain three characteristic components: a nitrogenous base, a pentose, and one or more phosphate groups. The nitrogenous bases are derivatives of two parent heterocyclic compounds, purine and pyrimidine. The major pyrimidine bases are cytosine, thymine, and uracil.

What 3 subunits make up DNA and RNA?

Nucleotides are the subunits of DNA. The four nucleotides are adenine, cytosine, guanine and thymine. Each of the four bases has three components, a phosphate group, a deoxyribose sugar and a nitrogen-containing base.

Why are there 3 nucleotides in a codon?

The three-letter nature of codons means that the four nucleotides found in mRNA — A, U, G, and C — can produce a total of 64 different combinations. Of these 64 codons, 61 represent amino acids, and the remaining three represent stop signals, which trigger the end of protein synthesis.

What are the 3 parts of a nucleotide quizlet?

nucleotide –> composed of three parts: nitrogenous base, five-carbon sugar (pentose), and phosphate group.

What are the 3 things DNA made of?

What is DNA made of? DNA is made of chemical building blocks called nucleotides. These building blocks are made of three parts: a phosphate group, a sugar group and one of four types of nitrogen bases. To form a strand of DNA, nucleotides are linked into chains, with the phosphate and sugar groups alternating.

What are the 3 nucleic acids?


  • 6.1 Deoxyribonucleic acid.
  • 6.2 Ribonucleic acid.
  • 6.3 Artificial nucleic acid.

What do 3 bases code for?

Amino Acids
Hidden within the genetic code lies the “triplet code,” a series of three nucleotides that determine a single amino acid.

What is the name of the 3 nucleotide segments of mRNA?

The mRNA bases are grouped into sets of three, called codons. Each codon has a complementary set of bases, called an anticodon. Anticodons are a part of transfer RNA (tRNA) molecules.

What are the subunits of a nucleotide?

Nucleotides are composed of three subunit molecules: a nucleobase, a five-carbon sugar (ribose or deoxyribose), and a phosphate group consisting of one to three phosphates.

What is the subunit of DNA?

A nucleotide is a subunit of DNA or RNA that consists of a nitrogenous base (A, G, T, or C in DNA; A, G, U, or C in RNA), a phosphate molecule, and a sugar molecule (deoxyribose in DNA, and ribose in RNA). Adenine (A) is one member of the A-T (adenine-thymine) base pair in DNA.

What are 3 bases of DNA called?

DNA base pair. Under normal circumstances, the nitrogen-containing bases adenine (A) and thymine (T) pair together, and cytosine (C) and guanine (G) pair together. The binding of these base pairs forms the structure of DNA .

What is a group of 3 bases called?

The mRNA bases are grouped into sets of three, called codons. Each codon has a complementary set of bases, called an anticodon.

What are 3 types of nucleic acids?


  • Deoxyribonucleic acid.
  • Ribonucleic acid.
  • Artificial nucleic acid.