What is the book shemot about?

What is the book shemot about?

The parashah tells of the Israelites’ affliction in Egypt, the hiding and rescuing of the infant Moses, Moses in Midian, the calling of Moses, circumcision on the way, meeting the elders, and Moses before Pharaoh. It is made up of 6,762 Hebrew letters, 1,763 Hebrew words, 124 verses, and 215 lines in a Torah Scroll.

What is the meaning of haftorah?

The haftarah or (in Ashkenazic pronunciation) haftorah (alt. haphtara, Hebrew: הפטרה) “parting,” “taking leave”, (plural form: haftarot or haftoros) is a series of selections from the books of Nevi’im (“Prophets”) of the Hebrew Bible (Tanakh) that is publicly read in synagogue as part of Jewish religious practice.

What parsha is after shemot?

Table of weekly readings

Book Parsha name Parsha Portion
Shemot (Exodus): 11 Pekudei, פְקוּדֵי 38:21-40:38
Vayikra (Leviticus): 10 Vayikra, וַיִּקְרָא Lev. 1:1-5:26
Tzav, צַו 6:1-8:36
Shemini, שְּׁמִינִי 9:1-11:47

Why is shemot called Exodus?

The English name of the book derives from the Septuagint (Greek) use of “exodus” to designate the deliverance of the Israelites from Egyptian bondage and their safe passage through the Sea of Reeds (traditionally mislocated as the Red Sea). The Hebrew title of the work is Shemot (Names).

What is the main message of exodus?

The goal of the divine plan in Exodus is a return to humanity’s state in Eden, so that God can dwell with the Israelites as he had with Adam and Eve through the Ark and Tabernacle, which together form a model of the universe; in later Abrahamic religions Israel becomes the guardian of God’s plan for humanity, to bring …

How do you spell Exodus in Hebrew?

The Book of Exodus (from Ancient Greek: Ἔξοδος, romanized: Éxodos; Hebrew: שְׁמוֹת Šəmōṯ, “Names”) is the second book of the Bible. It narrates the story of the Exodus, in which the Israelites leave slavery in Biblical Egypt through the strength of Yahweh, who has chosen them as his people.

How do you spell haftarah?

noun, plural Sephardic Hebrew Haf·ta·roth, Haf·ta·rot [hahf-tah-rawt], Ashkenazic Hebrew Haf·ta·ros [hahf-taw-rohs, -toh-], English Haf·ta·rahs. Judaism. a portion of the Prophets that is chanted or read in the synagogue on the Sabbath and holy days immediately after the Parashah.

What are the 3 parts of the Tanakh?

Tanakh, an acronym derived from the names of the three divisions of the Hebrew Bible: Torah (Instruction, or Law, also called the Pentateuch), Neviʾim (Prophets), and Ketuvim (Writings).

What is the Exodus story summary?

Chapters 1–18 narrate the history of the Egyptian bondage, the Exodus from Egypt, and the journey to Mount Sinai under the leadership of Moses. The second half of the book tells of the Covenant that was established between God and Israel at Sinai and promulgates laws for the ordering of Israel’s life.