Which are the 9 union territories of India?

Which are the 9 union territories of India?

With the inclusion of J&K and Ladakh, here is the full list of UTs in India:

  • Andaman and Nicobar.
  • Chandigarh.
  • Daman and Diu.
  • Dadar and Nagar Haveli.
  • Delhi.
  • Jammu and Kashmir.
  • Ladakh.
  • Lakshadweep.

What are the 8 union territories of India?

India currently has 8 Union Territories (UTs) – Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh, Lakshadweep, and Puducherry.

Which are the 11 union territories of India?

Union Territories of India

  • Andaman and Nicobar Islands.
  • Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.
  • Chandigarh.
  • Lakshadweep.
  • Puducherry.
  • Delhi.
  • Ladakh.
  • Jammu and Kashmir.

Is it 7 or 8 union territories in India?

There are 28 states and 8 Union territories in the country. Union Territories are administered by the President through an Administrator appointed by him/her. From the largest to the smallest, each State/ UT of India has a unique demography, history and culture, dress, festivals, language etc.

What are the 28 states and 9 union territories of India 2020?

Here list of List 28 states of India and 9 union territories with their capitals….9 Union Territories with Capital of India.

1 Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair
2 Chandigarh Chandigarh
3 Dadra and Nagar Haveli Silvassa
4 Daman and Diu Daman

What are the 8 union territories of India in 2022?

Here is the list of 8 Union Territories of India

  • Ladakh (Bifurcated on October 31, 2019)
  • National Capital Territory of Delhi (Capital Delhi)
  • Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.
  • Pondicherry – Puducherry.
  • Chandigarh (Also the Capital of Punjab & Haryana)
  • Andaman & Nicobar – First union territory of India.

Is Daman and Diu and Dadra and Nagar Haveli merged?

The Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu (Merger of Union Territories) Bill, 2019 was introduced in Lok Sabha by the Minister of Home Affairs, Mr. Amit Shah, on November 26, 2019. The Bill provides for the merger of the Union Territories (UTs) of Dadra and Nagar Haveli, and Daman and Diu into a single UT.

Why is Pondicherry a union territory?

De facto transfer of the four remaining French possessions to the Union of India took place on Nov. 1, 1954, and de jure transfer was completed on May 28, 1956. Instruments of ratification were signed on Aug. 16, 1962, from which date Pondicherry, consisting of the four enclaves, became a union territory.

What are 8 union territories?

Union Territories in India India has a total of 8 Union Territories and 28 states. The 8 Union territories in India include Delhi, Jammu & Kashmir, Ladakh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, Puducherry, Chandigarh, And (Read More) Union Territory is a special administrative sector in the Republic of India.

Which is the newly added union territory?

In August 2019, the Parliament of India passed Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019. The act contains provisions to reconstitute the state of Jammu and Kashmir into two union territories, one to be eponymously called Jammu and Kashmir, and the other Ladakh on 31 October 2019.

Which is the biggest union territory in India 2021?

Jammu and Kashmir is the largest union territory in India in terms of area which covers 125,535 km2 of land area.

Which is the largest union territory of India 2021?

Which UT is removed?

Former union territories

Name Zone UT disestablished
Dadra and Nagar Haveli Western 26 January 2020
Daman and Diu Western 26 January 2020
Goa, Daman and Diu Western 30 May 1987
Himachal Pradesh northern 25 January 1971

Is Jammu Kashmir a union territory now?

In August 2019, President Ram Nath Kovind gave assent to a legislation to bifurcate the state of Jammu and Kashmir into two Union Territories – Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh. The Union Territories came into existence on October 31, 2019.